Contractor Certification


Pursuant to Wis. Stats. 16.855(9m), contractors must be certified by the Department of Administration prior to submitting bids on a state construction project. Please do not bid on projects outside of your certified division(s) of work and/or over your certified budget thresholds. All bids received from contractors who are not certified will be rejected. If your company is not certified, please review the documents below to apply for certification. The DFD Single ​​Prime Bidding and ​Contra​cting webpage has more information abo​ut how projects are let under the new system.

Contractor certifications are only valid for a two year period. Please update and resubmit your application at least two months prior to your certification expiration date to allow sufficient time for processing a certification decision. All bids received from contractors who have an expired certification will be rejected. If you have any questions, please email us at​

UPDATE: 2023 Wisconsin Act 19 made numerous changes to project approval thresholds for State of Wisconsin construction projects. For example, the Small Projects and Simplified Bidding threshold has been increased from $300,000 to $600,000. Many projects in this range will no longer require Single Prime (or Single Trade) Bidding and Contracting, instead they will bid and contract under Small Project and Simplified Bidding procedures.​

In certain instances, these threshold increases may impact contractor certification levels. The DFD Certification team has updated certification levels as appropriate. Contractors do not need to submit for updated certification. Please direct all certification questions to​


Contractor Certific​ation​