About the Board

The Waste Facility Siting Board is an impartial body composed of six members. These members include the secretaries, or their formally appointed designees, of the Departments of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection; Safety and Professional Services; and Transportation; two town elected officials and one county elected official appointed by the governor for three year terms.

The board’s authority is created by law in Wis. Stat. §. 289, subch. III. The intent of the law is to create and maintain a comprehensive and effective policy of negotiation and arbitration between an applicant for a waste facility license and a local committee representing the affected municipalities.