State of Wisconsin
Department of Administration
Division of Gaming
Office of Charitable Gaming
Charitable Bingo Section
https://doa.wi.gov/Pages/AboutDOA/Gaming.aspx



3319 W. Beltline Hwy., 1st Fl P.O. Box 8979 Madison, WI 53708-8979 (608) 270-2530 (800) 791-6970 FAX (608) 270-2564

To: Licensed Bingo Organizations

The Office of Charitable Gaming continues to receive complaints regarding bingo game conduct that does not adhere to Wisconsin law. Following are some of the most common complaints received by this office. NOTE: These are not new rules; they are simply listed to draw your attention to some of the most common violations. The items listed do change from time to time, so please review this document carefully.

**Calling a Number/Monitors.** Monitors are helpful because they bring the caller up close to players in all rooms. However, the caller **must** call the number and letter before showing it on the monitor or to the players. Do not place the ball in front of the camera before it has been called and shown to the players. NOTE: A number is not called until the full call of **both** the letter and number is completed.

**50/50 Bingo Game**. Other than in a progressive jackpot game, a bingo game where the prize will be 50 percent of the receipts collected for that game violates s. 563.51(23), Wis. Stats., "...The amount of the prize for each bingo game also shall be posted where the regular bingo cards are distributed." However, you may guarantee a minimum prize *or* 50 percent of the receipts as long as the prize for that game is posted as follows: "Prize for this game is \$XX.XX or 50 percent of the receipts, whichever is greater."

**Stand Up Bingo/Sit Down Bingo/Reverse Bingo.** Any bingo game in which players are **out** if they have the numbers drawn are illegal in Wisconsin. This includes any variation of games in which, for example, everyone starts out standing, players sit down if they have the number called, and the last one standing wins the game. A bingo game can only be won if the winning arrangement on a player's card contains numbers that were actually called, including the last one.

**Progressive Jackpot Games**. If you wish to conduct a progressive jackpot game and sell the cards at a different price than any other games in an occasion, you must license it as a separate occasion. **Children under 18 may play and win the progressive jackpot game if an adult relative or legal guardian is present in the building or on the premises.** The prize must be paid by check to the winner(s) in the full amount. Multiple checks in smaller amounts may not be written in an attempt to avoid taxes, nor can payment be made to anyone other than the holder(s) of the winning card(s).

**Progressive Jackpot Consolation Prizes.** An organization may change the amount of the consolation prize from occasion to occasion throughout the life of a progressive jackpot game. However, that occasion's consolation prize amount must be posted where the cards are sold, before the occasion begins, and announced prior to the start of the progressive jackpot game. "Sliding Scale" consolation prizes, based on that occasion's attendance, card sales, or any other measurement, are **not** allowed.

"Hot" "Money" "Magic" "Wild", etc. Balls. An organization may draw a ball before the start of the first occasion and call it the Magic Ball (or something similar). If someone wins a bingo on that ball as the last number called, they receive an extra prize, to be determined ahead of time by the organization and posted along with all other payouts. It is okay to do this without any additional cost to players, but you cannot charge for participation nor can the extra prize amount be rolled over to the next occasion should no one win.