
FEDERAL SURPLUS PROPERTY PROGRAM 

VETERAN-OWNED SMALL BUSINESS FAQ’s 

What is the Veteran’s Small Business Enhancement Act of 2018?  The Veterans Small Business 
Enhancement Act of 2018 allows qualified veteran-owned small businesses to acquire federal surplus 
property through their State Agency for Surplus Property (SASP). The Wisconsin Surplus Property 
Program is the designated SASP for the State of Wisconsin (WISASP). For this program, veteran-owned 
small businesses (VOSB) and service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) are regarded 
equally and there is no distinction.  

Who is eligible?  The U.S. Small Business Administration - Veteran Small Business Certification (VetCert) 
enables Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs) and Veteran-Owned Small 
Businesses (VOSBs) to be certified as SDVOSB or VOSB in the U.S. Small Business Administration 
database for the opportunity to pursue sole-source and set-aside contracts at the Department of 
Veterans Affairs under the VA’s Vets First program.   

Veteran-owned small businesses who have a location and operations in Wisconsin and are registered 
with and certified through the U.S. Small Business Administration are eligible to receive surplus property 
through the federal government.  To learn more about how to prepare for verification, go to Veteran 
Certification FAQ's or call 800-862-8088.  Additional information can be found at 
https://veterans.certify.sba.gov/ and also at VetCert Fact Sheet - Preparing for Certification. 

**If you are not currently registered with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), or your 
certification has expired, we recommend that you start the application/renewal process NOW!  The SBA 
processing times for new applicants can take 4 weeks – 4 months.  Certification is required to 
participate in the Wisconsin Federal Surplus Property Program.   
 
Will my application ever expire and require renewal?  Yes.  Your application will expire on the same day 
as your SBA expiration.  WISASP application renewals will be done in conjunction with your businesses 
SBA Veteran Small Business Certification (VetCert) recertification. 
 
My business’s headquarters is in another state, but I have a location and operations here in 
Wisconsin.  Will I qualify?  Generally speaking, yes, and you may also qualify in the state in which your 
headquarters is located. However, property obtained from our program must be used in Wisconsin 
while it is under restriction. Contact our office for more details.   

How can a veteran screen for federal property?  WISASP will create a login(s) for eligible veteran-
owned small businesses who will receive a unique user ID and login for the U.S. General Services 
Administration’s federal surplus website, https://gsaxcess.gov/.  Upon logging in, vendors may search 
for property using a variety of factors, including the type of property, the state in which the property 
resides, keywords, and more.  Once a veteran has identified property in which he or she is interested, 
the veteran must contact WISASP to request the property. 

Is there a charge to obtain federal surplus property?  YES.  WISASP will charge a service fee to cover the 
administrative expenses.  All property obtained through our federal program will have an associated 
service charge that your business must pay.  The service charge is 5% of the item’s acquisition cost or a 
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minimum of $50.00, whichever is greater.  The service charges paid by participating organizations fund 
our program, as we do not receive any funding from the State or Federal government. 

What compliance requirements should veterans be aware of if they opt to request and obtain federal 
surplus property?  Federal surplus property with an acquisition cost of less than $5,000 must be put into 
use within one year of acquisition and used for a minimum of one year.  Property with an acquisition 
cost of $5,000 or more, as well as all passenger motor vehicles, must be used for at least 18 
months.  Title to the property remains with the federal government until the compliance period is 
over.  Personal use of this property is strictly prohibited during the compliance period, and compliance 
audits or reports will be required. 

Whom should I contact if I have questions? 

Please contact: VOSBWIFederal@wisconsin.gov  
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