# 12-15 Passenger Van Driver Training

## FY 2016-2017 Cost: \$127.00 per student

There are minimum driving standards for drivers of 12/15 passenger vans. You should check with your agency fleet manager and/or risk manager before registering for van driver training. VanPool participants should check with the VanPool Manager.

Eight students must be registered and confirmed in order for a scheduled class to take place. Enrollment will be on a first come, first served basis, determined by receipt of a properly completed application and proper payment.

Applications that are not complete and/or do not include payment will be returned to the applicant. Refer to the Application for State of Wisconsin Van Driver Training.

This is an all-day class, beginning at 8:30 a.m. The instructor is from Madison Area Technical College (MATC). Each driver should plan on the class lasting until approximately 3:30 p.m. A true/false test will be given at the end of the classroom session that must be passed before the driver can participate in behind-the-wheel training.

Each participant must provide his/her own transportation to and from the class, which will convene promptly at 8:30 a.m. Classes will be held at the MATC-Protective Services building, 1701 Pearson St, Madison, WI 53704, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor – Room 229.

#### Classes scheduled for August 2016 thru June 2017 are as follows:

September 15, 2016	December 8, 2016	March 9, 2017	May 4, 2017	June 15, 2017
October 13, 2016	January 12, 2017	April 6, 2017	May 18, 2017	
November 17, 2016	February 9, 2017	April 20, 2017	June 1, 2017	

You must be properly registered and be confirmed in order to attend a scheduled class.

### IMPORTANT INFORMATION IF YOU REGISTER TO ATTEND TRAINING:

Be on time for class and attend the entire day's training. If you are not present for the entire training session, you will not be given a passing grade and your registration payment will be forfeited.

You will be confirmed for the class at least one week prior to the scheduled class. Once confirmed for the class, your payment will be applied to the scheduled class whether or not you attend. Substitutions will be allowed as long as you provide State Risk Management at least 48 hours notice prior to the class; phone 608-261-6634 to provide the name of your substitute.

Thirty (30) minutes will be allotted for lunch. You may choose to bring your own lunch. As an alternative, a fast food restaurant is located nearby.

The use of seatbelts is required under Wisconsin law for all drivers and passengers. If for some reason you have any intention of disputing this law or refusing to wear a seatbelt while in your capacity as a driver or passenger in a state vehicle, you will not pass this class and should not sign up.

Prior to the class, each participant should read the following four NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) publications:

Reducing the Risk of Rollover Crashes in 15-Passenger vans: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/problems/studies/15PassVans/index.htm

Analysis of Crashes Involving 15-Passenger Vans: https://crashstats.nhtsa.dot.gov/Api/Public/ViewPublication/809735

12 & 15 Passenger Vans Tire Pressure Study: Preliminary Results: <u>https://crashstats.nhtsa.dot.gov/Api/Public/ViewPublication/809846</u>

Fatalities to Occupants of 15-Passenger Vans, 1997-2006: <u>https://crashstats.nhtsa.dot.gov/Api/Public/ViewPublication/810947</u>



#### Application for State of Wisconsin Van Driver Training

1. Last Name:		2. First Name:				
3. Inter-D Work Address – Stre	eet (if applicable)	4. Suite/Floor #	5. Ci	5. City		
6. 1 <sup>st</sup> Class Mail Work Address	s – (if no Inter-D)	7. Suite/Floor #	8. City 9. Zip C		9. Zip Code	
10. Email Address		11. Telephone # (area	a code)	12. Alternate	Telephone # (area code)	
13. Place an "X" in the appropri	ate box below.					
Training is for the State Vanpool Program Contact DOA Vanpool, <u>Julie.Blaney@wisconsin.gov</u> , who will submit your completed application and arrange for payment.						
Training is for a State of Wis	consin agency.	Indicate Agency Name:				
Mail your completed applicati Dept of Administration Burea First Class Mail: PO Box 770 Inter-D Mail: 101 E Wilson S Payment must be made by eith <b>be made payable to MATC. F</b> <b>driver training payments</b> , No purchasing cards, personal	u of State Risk Managem 008, Madison WI 53707-1 t, 5 <sup>th</sup> Floor er the Vanpool Program <b>'eopleSoft Supplier ID i</b>	008 or a State of Wisconsin age s: 0000070752 PS Locatio	on is: SU			
14. Preferred training dates (in completed application and payr		d to least preferred): Allow	at least 2	2 to 3 weeks for	processing after receipt of	
a.	b.		с	•		
Enrollment will be on a first come You will be notified by email whe payment will be applied to the so Risk Management at least 48 ho	n there are eight people heduled class whether o	enrolled for your preferred t r not you attend. Substitutio	raining d ns will be	ate. Once conf e allowed as lon	firmed for the class, your ng as you provide State	

-	Applicant Signature			

Supervisor *or* Vanpool Manager (depending on which box is marked above)

Date

Date