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 MDV-66/110878 

 
PRELIMINARY RECITALS 

 
Pursuant to a petition filed April 07, 2010, under Wis. Admin. Code § HA 3.03(1), to review a decision 
by the Washington County Department of Social Services in regard to Medical Assistance, a hearing was 
held on May 04, 2010, at West Bend, Wisconsin.  
 
The issues for determination are whether a divestment has occurred, when it occurred, if it occurred, 
whether the agency correctly determined the value of the divestment and whether the agency correctly 
calculated the penalty period. 
 
There appeared at that time and place the following persons: 
 
 PARTIES IN INTEREST: 

Petitioner: 

 

 

 
 
 

 

Respondent: 

 

Department of Health Services 
1 West Wilson Street, Room 651 
Madison, Wisconsin 53703 

By: Sally Chapman and Linda Hunt 
Washington County Department of Social Services 
333 E. Washington Street 
Suite 3100 
West Bend, WI  53095 

 
 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE: 
 David D. Fleming 
 Division of Hearings and Appeals 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 
1. Petitioner (CARES #  is a resident of Washington County. 

2. An application for institutional Medicaid was filed on behalf of Petitioner in January 2010.  
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3. Petitioner’s January 2010 application was denied as the county agency determined that a 
divestment had occurred.  The agency imposed a 386 day penalty period effective October 1, 
2009 and running through October 21, 2010. 

4. The property that the county agency determined had been divested was a parcel of real estate 
located in Oneida County and $9500.00 in cash.  The agency determined that real estate 
divestment occurred in April 2009 as a quit claim deed was signed on that date and a withdrawal 
from Petitioner’s checking account in the amount of $9500 was made in November 2009 for the 
benefit of others. 

5. The county agency determined the value of the divested real property to be $172,000 based on the 
December 2008 Oneida County real estate tax bill. From that sum was deducted $20,000 in 
improvements and payments of $80568.26 for a net real estate divestment of $71,431.74.  

6. Petitioner signed a sale agreement, apparently on June 1, 2005b that agreed to transfer the Oneida 
County property to her sons JW and DW for $100,000. JW and DW signed a note on June 1, 
2005 in which they agree to pay $100,000 to Petitioner in 24 equal installments of principal plus 
accrued interest at the rate of 4.57% beginning June 1, 2006.   Interest in the amount of 12% was 
to accrue on any unpaid balances of principal and interest.  No payments were made on this note 
but beginning in October 2008 the brothers began making periodic payments to Petitioner for her 
care. Through December 2009 those payments totaled $80,568.26.  As noted at Finding # 5 those 
payments were credited reducing the amount of the divestment.  

7. A check in the amount of $9500 was drawn from Petitioner’s account and made payable to the 
Oneida County Treasurer in November 2009.  As the family owns other real estate in Oneida 
County the agency could not determine for which property the money was paid so concluded that 
it was a divestment.  

8. The total divestment was determined by the agency to be $80,931.74 ($71,431.74 + $9500). This 
was divided by the daily private pay rate of $209.16 applicable at the time of application to arrive 
at a 386 day penalty period ($80,931.74/209.16 = 386).  

 
DISCUSSION 

 
Petitioner was represented at the hearing by her sons JW and DW.  They maintain that there should be no 
divestment as their mother intended to transfer the subject property to them in 2001 though it was not 
formalized until the 2005 sale agreement. They contend that that agreement was essentially a land 
contract. Alternatively they argue that if there is a divestment, the value of the property should be 
$120,000 based on the 2005 agreed to price and they should be given credit for contributions to their 
mother that exceeds the $120,000 value.  They contend that those contributions are the $80,568 as well as 
the $20,000 in property improvements.  They also believe that they should be credited with an additional 
cash payment from December 2009 in the amount of $10,000, the $9769 for real estate taxes and 
penalties paid going back to the year 2002 and the $9500 noted at Finding # 7.  
 
When an individual, the individual’s spouse, or a person acting on behalf of the individual or his spouse 
transfers assets at less than fair market value, the individual is ineligible for Institutional MA, which 
provides coverage of nursing facility services. 42 U.S.C. 1396p(c)(1)(A); Wis. Stat. §49.453(2)(a); Wis. 
Adm. Code §DHS 103.065(4)(a); Medicaid Eligibility Handbook (MEH), §17.2.1. Divestment does not 
impact on eligibility for standard medical services such as physician care, medications, and medical 
equipment (these are called “MA card services”).  
 
Previously, the penalty period was calculated as the number of months determined by dividing the value 
of property divested by the average monthly cost of nursing facility services. The Federal Deficit 
Reduction Act of 2005 (DRA) requires the imposition of partial months of ineligibility for divestments. 
For all divestments that occur on or after January 1, 2009, the penalty periods are to be calculated as the 
number of days for which Medicaid will not pay for long term care services. Penalty periods are no longer 



MDV-66/110878 

3 

rounded down to whole months. In order to impose partial months of ineligibility, as required by the 
DRA, all divestment penalties will be calculated in days, using the average daily nursing home cost to a 
private pay patient.  Medicaid Eligibility Handbook, § 17.5.   Thus to determine the penalty period for a 
divestment the average daily rate is computed by multiplying the average monthly rate by 12 and dividing 
by 365. Also see Operation Memo 09-01, issued January 7, 2009 at page 12.  Finally, I also note that 
divestments occurring after January 1, 2009 are added together and the total used to determine the length 
of the penalty period.  Operations Memo 09-01, at page 4. 
 
The first issue is when Petitioner actually conveyed the subject property to her two sons.  While the sons 
contend that it was in 2005 and while Wisconsin real property statutes (see generally Chapter 706, Stats.) 
do recognize conveyances made other than by deed, the Medicaid Eligibility Handbook, at §17.2.2.1, 
defines the transfer of property date for purposes of the Medicaid program as follows: “If the Medicaid 
member has transferred real property, such as a homestead, the official date of transfer is the date the Quit 
Claim Deed was signed.” Here the quit claim deed was executed on April 10, 2009. Thus, that is the date 
of the transfer that must be used. 
 
The April 2009 transfer date does not mean that it was a disqualifying divestment if there is proof to the 
contrary. For example, when services are provided by a family, there has to be a contemporaneous 
recording of what they were and on what dates. Further, if goods or services were purchased for the 
applicant, there must be documentation of what they were and evidence that the intent was they were 
purchased in exchange for the eventual ownership for the property. In this case, the county agency 
accepted $80,568.26 as such services as well as the $20,000 for property repairs and those sums were not 
subjects considered at the hearing. As for the $9769 for taxes and penalties gong back to 2002, the 
$10,000 payment made in late 2009 and the November 2009 $9500 payment; I am not allowing those as 
additional deductions from the divestment. Quite frankly, the record keeping by the sons concerning these 
amounts is not sufficient to demonstrate what they were for.  
 
I do, however, have a problem with the valuation used here.  Real estate property tax bills contain an 
assessment of value as of January of the year for which the taxes are levied. §70.10, Wis. Stats.; also 
generally the State of Wisconsin Department of Revenue website with respect to real estate tax bills.  Here 
the agency determined the value of the property using a December 2008 tax bill which would have 
reflected a January 2008 value. Given the fact that the application was made in 2010 the December 2009 
tax bill was available and that value would more accurately demonstrate the value of the property in April 
2009 that the December 2008 tax bill reflecting a January 2008 value.  Unfortunately the December 2009 
tax bill was not made available at the hearing so the agency will have to obtain it and redetermine the 
penalty period based on that value. (There is some indication that the value as of January 2009 was about 
$144,000; using this number the amount of the divestment would be about $44,000 with a penalty period 
of about 210 days.)  
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
1. That the agency correctly concluded that a divestment occurred with the April 2009 transfer of 

Petitioner’s Oneida County property to her sons. 
 

2. That the property value used was based on an outdated real estate tax bill and should have used the 
value for the year of the divestment.  

 
THEREFORE, it is ORDERED 
 
 
That this case is sent back to the agency with instructions to redetermine the value of the real estate 
involved here using the December 2009 tax bill and to redetermine the penalty period using that 2009 
value. This must be done within 10 days of the date of this Decision. 
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REQUEST FOR A REHEARING 
 
This is a final administrative decision. If you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts 
or the law, you may request a rehearing. You may also ask for a rehearing if you have found new 
evidence which would change the decision. Your request must explain what mistake the Administrative 
Law Judge made and why it is important or you must describe your new evidence and tell why you did 
not have it at your first hearing. If you do not explain these things, your request will have to be denied. 
 
To ask for a rehearing, send a written request to the Division of Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875, 
Madison, WI 53707-7875. Send a copy of your request to the other people named in this decision as 
"PARTIES IN INTEREST."  Your request for a rehearing must be received no later than 20 days after the 
date of the decision. Late requests cannot be granted. 
 
The process for asking for a rehearing is in Wis. Stat. § 227.49. A copy of the statutes can be found at 
your local library or courthouse. 
 

APPEAL TO COURT 
 
You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed 
no more than 30 days after the date of this hearing decision (or 30 days after a denial of rehearing, if you 
ask for one).  
 
For purposes of appeal to Circuit Court, the Respondent in this matter is the Department of Health 
Services.  Appeals must be served on the Office of the Secretary of that Department, either personally or 
by certified mail. The address of the Department is:  1 West Wilson Street, Room 651, Madison, 
Wisconsin 53703 
 
The appeal must also be served on the other "PARTIES IN INTEREST" named in this decision. The 
process for appeals to the Circuit Court is in Wis. Stat. §§ 227.52 and 227.53 
 
 
  Given under my hand at the City of Milwaukee, 

Wisconsin, this 25th day of June, 2010 
 
 

 
  /sDavid D. Fleming 
  Administrative Law Judge 

Division of Hearings and Appeals 
 

c:       
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