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STATE OF WISCONSIN 

Division of Hearings and Appeals 
 

In the Matter of 
 
(petitioner) 
 

 
 

DECISION 
 
 

FCP-40/59236 
 

PRELIMINARY RECITALS 
 
Pursuant to a petition filed August 7, 2003, under Wis. Stat. §49.45(5) and Wis. Adm. Code §HA 3.03(1), 
to review a decision by the Office of Strategic Finance (OSF) in regard to Family Care Program, a 
hearing was held on January 22, 2004, at Milwaukee, Wisconsin.   
 
The issue for determination is whether petitioner’s cost share has been properly determined. 
 
There appeared at that time and place the following persons: 
 
 PARTIES IN INTEREST:  

Petitioner: 

(petitioner) 
 

 

 
 
 

Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services 
Office of Strategic Finance 
P. O. Box 1379 
Madison WI 53707-1379 

By:  David Wilson 
        Milwaukee County Dept. of Aging 
        235 W. Galena St. 

Milwaukee WI 53212-3948 
 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE: 

Louis H. Dunlap 
Division of Hearings and Appeals 

 
FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. Petitioner (SSN xxx-xx-xxxx, CARES #xxxxxxxxxx) is a resident of Milwaukee County who has 
been enrolled in the Family Care Plan for some time. 

2. Petitioner entered a nursing home for two weeks of respite care in April, 2003. 

2. After leaving the nursing home, petitioner was notified that her cost share for the months of June,   
July and August would be $775. She paid this amount once during this time.             

4.           Petitioner’s only income is Social Security of $820 per month. 

 



DISCUSSION 
 
There actually is no issue for determination here.  
 
The Family Care program, which is supervised by the Department of Health and Family Services, is 
designed to provide appropriate long-term care services for elderly or disabled adults.  It is authorized in 
the Wisconsin Statutes, §46.286, and is described comprehensively in the Wisconsin Administrative 
Code, Chapter HFS 10. 
 
In this case, the petitioner has been found eligible for FC.  An eligible person’s income is reviewed to 
determine if the recipient has enough income to be responsible for payment of a monthly “cost share.”  
Medicaid Eligibility Management Handbook (MEMH), Appendices 32.3.0, 25.5.0, 25.9.3.  There is no 
dispute that the petitioner’s income levels at all times relevant herein have caused her to be subject to a 
cost share liability. Also, it is clear that a recipient may request a hearing on the determination of the cost 
share amount.  Wis. Stat. §46.287(2)(a)1b. 
 
What seems to have happened is that petitioner’s cost share was determined to be the Medicaid nursing 
home payment amount rather than the FCP amount. After August, 2003 her cost share returned to 
approximately the level it had been prior to June, i. e. $88.00 per month. The county agency agreed that 
the amount for the months of June, July and August must be re-determined, which will mandate a refund 
of part of the erroneous $775 that petitioner paid. 
 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
Petitioner’ s cost share was incorrectly determined for the three months at issue. 
 
 
 
NOW, THEREFORE, it is  ORDERED 
 
That the matter is remanded to the Milwaukee County Department on Aging with instructions to re-
determine petitioner’s cost share amount for the months of June, July and August, 2003 and take the 
administrative steps necessary to refund the amount of $775 minus the correct cost share amounts for the 
three months within 10 days of the date of this decision.  
 
 
 
REQUEST FOR A NEW HEARING 
 
This is a final fair hearing decision.  If you think this decision is based on a serious mistake in the facts or 
the law, you may request a new hearing.  You may also ask for a new hearing if you have found new 
evidence which would change the decision.  To ask for a new hearing, send a written request to the 
Division of Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875, Madison, WI  53707-7875. 
 
Send a copy of your request to the other people named in this decision as “PARTIES IN INTEREST.” 
 
Your request must explain what mistake the examiner made and why it is important or you must describe 
your new evidence and tell why you did not have it at your first hearing.  If you do not explain these 
things, your request will have to be denied. 
 

 2



Your request for a new hearing must be received no later than twenty (20) days after the date of this 
decision.  Late requests cannot be granted.  The process for asking for a new hearing is in sec. 227.49 of 
the state statutes.  A copy of the statutes can found at your local library or courthouse. 
 
APPEAL TO COURT 
 
You may also appeal this decision to Circuit Court in the county where you live.  Appeals must be filed 
no more than thirty (30) days after the date of this hearing decision (or 30 days after a denial of rehearing, 
if you ask for one).  
 
Appeals for benefits concerning Family Care Program must be served on Department of Health and 
Family Services, P.O. Box 7850, Madison, WI, 53707-7850, as respondent. 
 
The appeal must also be served on the other “PARTIES IN INTEREST” named in this decision.  The 
process for Court appeals is in sec. 227.53 of the statutes. 
 
 
        Given under my hand at the City of 

Madison, Wisconsin, this 28th day of 
January, 2004 

 
 
 

 
/sLouis H. Dunlap 
Administrative Law Judge  
Division of Hearings and Appeals 

 427/LHD 
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