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DVB Frequently Asked Questions 
 

1. What are the benefits of certification?  
To increase the opportunity for disabled veteran firms to sell their products and 

services to the State of Wisconsin.  A certified disabled veteran-owned business is 

eligible for a 5 percent bid preference.  This means that the Disabled Veteran –Owned 

Business submits a qualified, responsible and competitive bid that is no more than 5% 

higher than the lowest responsible bid. This policy is referred to as a permissive price 

preference it is not a mandatory policy. 

  

The Wisconsin Department of Administration monitors state agencies' compliance 

with the purchasing guidelines that have been established for disabled veteran 

business procurement through this Act. 

 

The Wisconsin Department of Commerce certifies firms for eligibility to participate 

in the state's disabled veteran business bid preference program. 

 

The bid preference program does not apply to printing firms, but they are encouraged 

to become certified so that agencies can procure printing orders from disabled veteran  

vendors to meet their purchasing goal. 

 

2. Who is eligible for certification program? 

DVB certification requires that the business is at a minimum 51% owned and 

controlled by a disabled veteran applicant (s) and is a Wisconsin resident. 

 

3. Does it cost anything for a DVB certification?  
Yes. Each application shall include a fee of $50, and an additional payment of $100 

for two, one-year renewal fees. The department shall refund the $100 payment if 

certification is ultimately denied. 

 

4. How long is the certification valid?  
The DVB certification is valid for three years, with a one year renewal review 

conducted by the department.  

 

5.  How and when will the department notify the DVB certified business of their 

renewal?  
Prior to the end of the first two years of every three-year certification period, the 

department shall review any accumulated information for the DVB. As part of the 

review, the department may collect or require submittal of further information for the 

DVB. The review shall address whether the DVB is continuing to comply with 

Comm. 103. Unless the DVB certified business is notified by the department, the 

certification shall renew for the following year.  
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6.  What is required of a DVB certified business if they receive a department's 

notification of the intent to deny certification, renewal of a certification, to 

deny recertification or to decertify?  
The DVB certified business shall have 30 calendar days from the date of the 

department's notification to submit a written request for an informal hearing. If no 

request is made for an informal hearing, the determination to deny certification, 

renewal of certification, deny recertification or decertification shall become final and 

the department will send a final notice of denial to the DVB. The DVB's name will be 

removed from the database of certified disabled-owned businesses. If the denial is 

upheld following an informal hearing, the DVB may appeal the decision by 

submitting a written request for a formal hearing to the department within 30 calendar 

days of the mailing of the notification of denial. 

 

7. What is meant by "relevant licenses"?  
Relevant licenses include any incorporated company or limited liability partnership 

that needs to be currently registered with the Wisconsin Department of Financial 

Institutions. Any sole proprietor or general partnership trading under a trade name or 

assumed name needs a trade name issued by the Secretary of State's Office. In 

addition, relevant licenses can also include any locality's business licenses or trade 

licenses such as architects, CDL licenses, tax registration permits, etc.  

 

8. Why does the form have to be notarized and mailed?  
When a form is notarized, you are swearing and affirming that the information you 

have entered on the form is true, under penalty of perjury. Original signatures and the 

notary seal on a notarized document have to be mailed to the department or delivered 

by hand. 

 

9. What does "supporting documentation" mean?  
Supporting documentation means evidence that shows that what you have said in the 

application is true. The list of supporting documentation should be submitted with the 

application to prevent the delay in processing the DVB application. Most delays are 

caused by incomplete applications or missing documentation.  

 

10. Why do I have to provide the supporting documents and what is the 

department's policy regarding the confidentiality of the supporting 

documents?  
The department has to ascertain not only who owns the company, but also who 

controls and actively manages the company on a daily basis. Except as otherwise 

required by court order, legal process or other applicable Federal or Wisconsin law, 

including, without limitation, the Wisconsin Public Open Records Law (Wis. Stats. 

19.31-19.39), the Department shall not reveal or disclose any financial or personally 

identifiable information without the written consent of the applicant. 

 

11. What is the bank authorization and signature card?  
The bank signature card is the application to open the account in the business name. It 

shows the authorized signatures of the person/people who own and control the bank 
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account. This proves who actually controls the company on a day-to-day basis. If 

your bank will not give you a copy of that application form with signatures, ask them 

to write a letter of confirmation on their bank letterhead, stating who is the owner and 

signatory on the business account. 

 

12. Do I have to send the original documents?  
No. Please do not send us original documents, except the application form and 

affidavit. Send us copies only. 

 

13. I'm already a certified DBE, MBE or WBE but I want to be certified as a 

DVB, what is the process?  
Submit the application form. 

 

14. When / why does my certification expire? 
The certification expires in three years. The business may recertify their businesses 

for another three years. The reason for the recertification is to ensure that our 

database of certified firms is always current, with actual firms doing business and 

with correct contact information. 

 

15. Does certification guarantee that I will get state or other contracts?  
No. It is not a guarantee of contracts. You will still need to do marketing and 

networking. The certification is established in order to facilitate contracting 

capabilities for disabled veteran-owned businesses with public and private sector 

entities. Certification doesn't give you anything in and of itself. Like any marketing 

tool, it's your strategy and plan that gets you the business. As a disabled veteran-

certified company, you pitch your value with the vendor's awareness that you're a 

"diversity supplier" as a certified DVB.  By registering in VendorNet, at least 5 

percent of state purchasing and contracting is targeted to certified disabled veteran-

owned businesses. Certified disabled veteran-owned firms are also eligible for a low-

bid waiver as long as their bid is no higher than 5 percent of the lowest qualified 

responsible bidder. 

 

16. What is the purpose of an on-site visit?  
The main purpose is to confirm what was written in the application and the 

supporting documentation. It gives the department a chance to see the business 

facilities, understand the daily management process and answer any remaining 

questions we have about a company's eligibility. The on-site visit is at the discretion 

of the department.  

 

17. How long does the DVB certification process take?  
Certifications generally take four to six weeks. Any deficiency in receipt of required 

information and documents may delay the certification process.  
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18. What do I need to do to stay in the Program when my certification expires? 
The department shall send a recertification application form to each DVB at least 60 

calendar days prior to the certification expiration date.  

  

19. Does the business need to be in operation at least a year in order to be eligible 

for DVB certification?  
The DVB rule states that a business operating less than one year may create the 

presumption that an applicant does not or cannot satisfy the eligibility standards for 

certification as a DVB. In such cases, the applicant has the burden of establishing to 

the department's satisfaction that the business meets the eligibility standards despite 

being formed within one year prior to an application for certification. Stock 

transferred from a non disabled veteran-owned business to a disabled veteran owned 

within preceding year also creates the presumption of ineligibility. 

 

 

For additional information on the certification program contact an Area Development 

Consultant at 608-267-9550.  

 
 


